Who are you, and what did you do with my wife?

We have chocolate in our fridge.

Chocolate

I got the Mars bar in a race pack for the half marathon I did on my birthday, March 3rd.

The Cadbury Creme Eggs have been there since Lou’s mum’s last visit. That was March 2nd.

Normally this shelf would be empty by March 4th. But my chocoholic wife has actually gone off chocolate! Hell hath well and truly frozen over. It was something I joked about before she was pregnant, and she would always say “NEVER!” So I find this very amusing. Even now Lou says “I haven’t gone off chocolate!” and then involuntarily grimaced when I suggested she eat some.

But Lou has basically gone off everything. Food doesn’t sound appetising to her; it doesn’t smell good and it tastes different. It’s sad really, because Lou is a girl who loves to eat. She isn’t a fatty, but if she wasn’t genetically gifted with a good metabolism, she probably would be. Her brain knows she loves food, but her stomach says quite the contrary. Tonight for example, I made my famous red thai curry. She has been pestering me to make it for the past week. But as soon as I started cooking the onions, she became wary of the smell. When I served it up (one of my best ever, if I do say so myself!), she ate it slowly and deliberately, as if on auto-pilot. I found myself begging for the compliments that usually come freely. True to character, she cleared her plate, and even had seconds. But I could tell her heart wasn’t in it.

I hope she gets her appetite back soon. In the meantime, if I fancy some chocolate I know where to find it!

P.S. I was nervous about posting a picture of the fridge. Like people are going to judge my condiment choices. Or that our fridge is from Ikea, and so was the pillow from the last post. I swear I am not one of those Ikea people, and that I enjoy a balanced diet.

P.P.S. I am training for the London Marathon and tomorrow is my longest training run, an organised 20 mile Marathon Prep Run around Hyde Park. It is ONE degree Celsius tomorrow, and it’s snowing. I am stupidly procrastinating by writing this post, when I should be sorting out my stuff for my 7:30am departure. But I don’t wanna… NO WANT WHATSOEVER.

Off to find some pictures of cats on Buzzfeed….

About mamadeux

Just another lesbian trying to get pregnant!
This entry was posted in morning sickness, pregnancy, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Who are you, and what did you do with my wife?

  1. This feels much like my cheese aversion! I’m not off sugar or chocolate, but trying to reduce my intake for now… for the first time ever, candy is appearing in our home faster than it’s being consumed… so I understand!

  2. Eggs&Hope says:

    Good luck with the run – on the coldest day ever! You must be crazy! lol! And now you’ve just driven me crazy seeing the picture of your Creme Eggs – they are my favourite! I hope that I go off chocolate when I am finally pregnant as it’s my biggest vice! And nothing wrong with good old Ikea – we’re getting a new fridge from there in a few weeks! lol! x

  3. mamadeux says:

    Thanks! It was bloody cold and snowy! But sheer determination got me through, and now I can eat whatever I want for the next few days 🙂 Which won’t include the creme eggs bc I’m not really bothered about chocolate. Shall I ship them over? :–D

Leave a Reply

